The Guzheng Forum Forum Index The Guzheng Forum
guzheng talk

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Help ... Having very difficult time

View previous topic :: View next topic  
doll
Plywood

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 4:12 pm    Post subject: Help ... Having very difficult time Reply with quote

Hey everyone...I'm new to GuZheng and bought the travel sized concert one from Sound of China.

It is my second day with the GuZheng. I made the silly mistake of not reading the forum carefully first, and I loosened the strings which I read you are not supposed to do.

(But I also read that they are already loose for the travel version? Anyway, I did not know that, and I loosened them some more because I was scared about the strings breaking when I placed the bridges)

Now I am having such a hard time tuning my GuZheng...

To get the right pitch I have to keep turning the wrench tighter and the strings are not strong enough to sustain the force. Two of them already broke before I could tune them to the right note. I'm afraid all of them will break by the time I go through each one! Even the thicker strings seem at risk of breaking.

What should I do in this situation? Did I mess my GuZheng up by loosening the strings some more? Or is it normal for the strings to be so fragile in the beginning?
yukina
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't worry. You just need to tighten them back. When tuning the high notes, lift the string up away from the bridge or take down the bridge, and then turn the wrench. Do not let the string sits on top of the bridge when turning the wrench, it easily breaks the string this way.

The strings are not fragile, they are just a little unstable in the beginning.
doll
Plywood